Training for the Heart Mini

In high school, I ran cross country (and by ran, I mean trailed behind). Our races were always 5k or 3.1 miles, and I thought that was a lot. But this weekend, I’ll be running in my first ever 15k! Now, that’s a lot of miles (9.3 to be exact). Don’t get me wrong, I’ve run more than 9 miles before but never in a 15k race. The race is in Cincinnati, and it’s a weekend full of events. There’s actually a full marathon that’s taking place too, but there is no way I’m running that far (yet!).

The whole reason I’m running this race is to prepare myself for my second ever Flying Pig Half Marathon! It’s only about a month and a half away now, and I am so excited. If you’ve ever trained for a half marathon you probably know how I feel. If not, well you probably think I’m a little crazy. So here’s how I stay motivated…

  1. I tell myself every night how excited I am for my run the next day (even if I’m not) so I wake up in a good mood.
  2. I always do my long runs in the morning, so I can get it over with and skip the whole procrastination process.
  3. Think about how good you’ll feel afterward. They don’t call it runner’s high for nothing!
  4. Plan out a little sweet treat for after your run. Moderation is key, but it’s nice to have something to look forward to after burning off all those calories.

I’ll be using all of these methods to help me get through the rest of my training (especially the last one come race day)!

Leave a Reply

