Nuts for Nut Butters

Peanut Butter? Almond Butter? Count me in! I spread this stuff on everything and always have a variety of it to choose from. I even counted yesterday and had 6 different jars on hand. Call me nutty, but I love it. The best part about it is that I can eat it and be guilt-free.  Peanut butter has been called one of the best runner’s foods on the planet! According to sports RD Nancy Clark, “When it comes to the food choices runners can make, you can’t do much better than peanut butter”. But why is this the case?

Simple sugars found in carbohydrates may shoot your insulin levels high after you eat it, but they quickly fall back down halfway through your workout. Nut butters on the other hand, are full of protein, fat, and fiber and this allows for a slow release of energy that lasts your whole workout. For some people the “full of fat” aspect might scare them off, but nut butters are high in unsaturated fats which is actually good for your heart. The protein in nut butters help with muscle growth and recovery, and since nut butters are a pretty high calorie snack, it keeps your energy level up. Ultimately, this helps keep you fuller for a longer time, and you avoid overeating.

What’s my favorite way to eat this yummy stuff before my runs? Well it’s super easy and absolutely delicious. All I do is spread some of my desired nut butter onto a plain, lightly salted rice cake and top with banana slices. If you’re looking for a little something different, try a rice cake with almond butter spread and topped with pear slices and agave. So good, I’m salivating just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

